Asparagus in disguise

I belonged to the asparagus hater club until recently when I discovered this recipe by pure trial and error and out of necessity to be a good role model for my kids. I mean if I tell them “you better eat your greens” and I make a face at asparagus that wouldn’t be any good would it?
Hence, this recipe was born out of desperate measures to eat my greens.
Alright! I think you got the point that I utterly disliked asparagus. But not any more! I love it! Well, that is probably an exaggeration but I sure don’t turn my nose up at it anymore.
Why don’t you try it and let me know if it was worth the trouble or not?

Ingredients

1 bunch of asparagus ( diced)
A handful of of sliced baby carrots
3-4 rooster potatoes (sliced long or cubed)
Small onion ( diced)
Small tomato (diced)
Garlic powder
Black Pepper powder
Soy sauce ( a tsp)
Salt to taste
1 tsp oil of your choice

20140405-184321.jpg

Instructions

Toss all the cut vegetables into a frying pan and add a pinch of garlic powder, a dash of black pepper, the soy sauce and salt to taste. Mix well.
Cover the pan on high flame for a minute and then lower to low flame for the vegetables to cook uniformly.
After 5-10mns or when cooked ( I check by pricking the potatoes with a fork), uncover and add the oil.
Now coat the vegetables with the oil and cook on high flame for a couple of minutes making sure the vegetables don’t stick to the bottom of the pan by turning/tossing often.
Hey presto, the asparagus in disguise is ready.
Enjoy with some garlic bread and meat or fish of your choice!

20140405-183050.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Cholesterol Lowering recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

